Top Ten films that have made an impact on my life

I lately have been into top ten lists on YouTube and I thought it’d be fun to make my own list! With a personal touch to each of these films, here are the top ten movies that have made an impact on my life!

10. Kids by Larry Clark

Starting off my list is Larry Clark’s 1995 drama about a day in the life of a group of teens as they travel around New York City skating, drinking, smoking, and deflowering virgins.  Not only does that sound typical but the real twist with the film is how it involves real NYC teens with no acting experience and the very real threat of the HIV/AIDS virus that was very prevalent at the time. This film is important and helped show me that you can’t trust everyone as a teenager and always wear condoms!

9. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by Peter Jackson

Brought into a world of fantasy and adventure, this series taught me about the importance of never embarking on a journey without your closest friends. Sometimes we need to face our fears and embrace our destiny and without the help of Sam, Frodo would have never been able to make it to Mordor. Since I love adventure, these films have stuck with me since I first saw them over a decade ago.

8. Gangs of New York by Martin Scorsese

This film introduced me to my favorite actor of all time- Daniel Day Lewis, and it also introduced me to the wonders of method acting. Bill the Butcher is definitely my favorite villain of all movies, and to think Lewis was actually like him on set is unbelievable. Scorsese may have had a lot to deal with Cameron Diaz and Leonardo DiCaprio, but Daniel Day Lewis stole the whole film from them with his solid acting. He made me want to be a loyal gangster of his.

7. Le Voyage dans la Lune by Georges Melies

One of the most gorgeous films and how fun would it have been to have gotten to be a part of the production of this film. One of the oldest on my list, this film is a staggering 14 minutes long but it is full of wonder and imagination. Nothing beats creating something from scratch and having other people love it just like you do.

6. The Big Lebowski by the Coen Brothers

Smoking pot and watching this movie were quintessential to my teenage years. This film always gets me to laugh and show that comedy can be critically acclaimed and a commercial success.

5. The Dark Knight by Christopher Nolan

When I first saw this in 2008 I immediately went to the mall and bought all the posters I could for the movie and hung them up all around my room. I was in mourning over Heath Ledger’s tragic death and over his insanely inspiring role as the Joker. I knew I would never get to see him in another performance of that character and that ripped my whole world a part. He made me want to love films for who brought what to them.

4. Star Wars original Trilogy created by George Lucas

I permanently put the rebel alliance symbol into my skin because it stands for hope and salvation against evil tyrants. We can change the world if we just believe in the force.

3. Donnie Darko by Richard Kelly

Donnie got me through depression when I was a junior in high school. I felt just like him, alone, bewildered, confused. Yeah, he had a giant bunny following him and this was all an illusion anyway but it felt good to relate to someone.

2. Harold and Maude by Hal Ashby

My very first serious boyfriend and I watched this together when we were younger. We both fell in love with the story and the music and the characters. We were outsiders like the two in the film were. I’ll never forget how that film made us feel.

1. Pulp Fiction by Quentin Tarantino

Since I was 10 years old (maybe I should’ve been older) this has been my all time favorite film. From the acting to the music to the directorial style, it all made me want to know more about each character. Not to mention it is the film that got me interested in pursuing film as a career choice.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

